the Bridport Prize Newsletter - November 2016
November 2016 Newsletter

Congratulations to our 2016 Winners

The 2016 prize-giving was held at Bridport Arts Centre on 15 October. We were delighted to welcome winners and their guests who travelled from across the UK and from as far away as Canada and the U.S.

Mark Pajak wins the £5,000 first prize for poetry with Spitting Distance

Wendy Brandmark wins the £5,000 first prize for short story with Cut Loose

David Swann wins the £1,000 first prize for flash fiction with Drought

S.M. Misra wins the £1,000 first prize for the Peggy Chapman-Andrews First Novel Award, plus up to a year’s mentoring with The Literary Consultancy for The Unbelonging of Taksheel Chaturveydi
Image: Winners - Mark Pajak, David Swann, S.M. Misra and Wendy Brandmark
A big thank you to our 2016 judges Patience Agbabi, Tessa Hadley, Tim Stevenson and Kerry Young. The full results and judges reports can be seen at the results page of the website.

The Peggy Chapman-Andrews Award for a First Novel

The opening chapters of the winning and runner-up novels from 2016 can be read by following the links below:

1st prize - S.M. Misra - The Unbelonging of Taksheel Chaturveydi

Runner-up – Christopher Holt - Orphaned Leaves

NEW - From 2017 this award is open to writers from the Republic of Ireland as well as writers in Britain.
Image: S.M. Misra reads from her winning novel at the prize-giving

The 2017 Competition

The 2017 competition is now open for entries and we are delighted to announce our judges:  Lemn Sissay for poetry, Peter Hobbs for short stories, Kit de Waal for flash fiction and Nathan Filer for the PC-A First Novel Award.
For full details on how to enter, please see our competition rules.
To enter online you will need to register on the website first.
If you have any difficulties, please contact our website administrator, Victoria Bennion at  

To enter by post, please click on the orange ENTER BY POST tab below to download a paper form.
Should you have any queries about the competition, check our frequently asked questions or contact Kate Wilson the competition administrator at  
Closing date 31 May 2017 at midnight BST
All online entries submitted by 31 December 2016 will be entered automatically into a prize draw. One randomly selected winner will have their entry fees reimbursed and receive a copy of the 2016 winners anthology. 

Anthology Bundle

Vanessa Gebbie
With Christmas around the corner, the perfect present for the book-lover in your life. Buy the 2014, 2015 and 2016 anthologies for just £15 plus P&P. Please note this is a time limited offer till 12 December 2016 only.

Congratulations Kelleigh

LIKE our facebook page to win
Congratulations to Kelleigh Greenberg Jephcott, winner of the 2015 Peggy Chapman-Andrews First Novel Award, whose winning novel Swan Song will be published in 2018.

2016 Anthology

Enjoy the winning poems, short stories and flash fiction from this year’s competition. £10 plus P&P.

our website
Copyright © 2016 The Bridport Prize, All rights reserved.

Want to change how you receive these emails?
The Bridport Prize is the flagship project of Bridport Arts Centre, Dorset, UK
and raises vital funds for the continuation of its work.