Share
Tweet
Forward
RIHSC logo

February 2016 eNews 

Though there isn't snow on the ground now, take a look at this hugely popular post from a couple weeks back on our Facebook page - be sure to LIKE us on Facebook to see the great things happening in our schools!

Recess for All

Legislation that would ensure recess for all students in K-5 has been introduced at the State House. Learn more about House Bill H7644 and read the recent policy brief from Rhode Island Kids Count that states:

“Elementary school recess should be required to be a minimum of 20 minutes per day, allow for both structured and self-directed play, not be withheld as punishment or for academic reasons, and optimally be scheduled before lunch. Recess also should not be substituted for remedial or extra academic instruction as it may be counterproductive to achieving desired educational outcomes.”  

Free Healthy Family Events

...sponsored by American Heart Association and Blue Cross & Blue Sheild of RI - a family yoga class led by Shri Yoga's Alison Bologna and an interactive healthy cooking demonstration led by Johnson & Wales Nutrition Society! More information and registration

Let's Make a Healthy Poster!

There's still time for entry into the annual GET HEALTHY Poster Contest! Students in grades K-5 can submit a poster that highlights their favorite physical activity and favorite healthy food, and also demonstrates how physical activity and healthy eating helps build healthy hearts, healthy families and healthy communities. Get your entry in - here's how.

MARCH IS NATIONAL NUTRITION MONTH! 

Is your school planning any events to celebrate it? Here is an entire website dedicated to helping you recognize National Nutrition Month, brought to you by the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.

Do you need helpful tips for how to choose healthy snacks? URI SNAP-Ed has put together a handy Healthy Snack List to use personally and share at school! Download in English or Spanish.

Healthy School Meal Grants Available for PTAs

If your school has a PTA (not PTO), the National PTA is now accepting applications for the Healthy Lifestyles: Healthy School Meals Grant. More information is on their website, including resources to help you get started and 2 webinars on how to apply!

School Grants for Healthy Kids

Schools need resources to implement health and wellness practices that help students eat better and be physically active. Action for Healthy Kids is granting over $1.6 million to schools for the 2016-2017 school year. Their School Grants for Healthy Kids can help your school health team achieve its goal to make every kid healthy and ready to learn. Applications are now being accepted until April 1. More information

UPCOMING WEBINARS:

Wellness Wednesday: Growing your School Garden
Wednesday, March 9

4:00-4:30 p.m. ET, 3:00-3:30 p.m. CT, 2:00-2:30 p.m. MT, 1:00-1:30 p.m. PT 
Spring is near so we have ideas and resources for parents, teachers, and students to incorporate into your school and/or community garden. Join us as we share lessons from successful school garden programs that you can begin to incorporate as part of your school wellness activities. 

Engaging Your Parent Community in School Health and Wellness
Tuesday, March 15
2:00-3:00 p.m. ET, 1:00-2:00 p.m. CT, 12:00-1:00 p.m. MT, 11:00-12:00 p.m. PT 
Parents are largely an untapped resource in the movement towards healthier schools. This webinar will feature success stories, effective strategies and practical pointers for engaging parents as powerful partners in your school wellness efforts. For school health teams and community members, or join this webinar to become a parent wellness champion.

Get Recognized as a Health Promoting School: The Role of School Nutrition Staff
Wednesday, March 16
2:00–3:00 p.m. ET, 1:00–2:00 p.m. CT, 12:00–1:00 p.m. MT, 11:00–12:00 p.m. PT 
Are you a school nutrition staff member who is ready to get your school recognized for its efforts to enhance student health? Join this webinar to learn more about applying for the HealthierUS School Challenge: Smarter Lunchrooms (HUSSC: SL) initiative. 
RI Healthy Schools Coalition connects the RI school community, providing direct support for district school wellness work to create and sustain healthy school environments for all children. 
www.rihsc.org
unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences 

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp