Copy
View this email in your browser

The Association of Adult Musicians with Hearing Loss cordially invites interested musicians with hearing loss to our upcoming virtual conference titled, "Variations on a Theme"  on July 16 and 17.  This event will focus on the challenges of making aural music with hearing devices such as hearing aids or cochlear implants.  Workshops will be held on one of these three tracks:  Conservation, Transformation and Recognition. 

Presenters include deaf and hard of hearing musicians Rick Ledbetter and Abigel Szilagyi, deaf composers Tyler Mazone and Jay Alan Zimmerman and audiologists Dr. Heather Malyuk, Dr. Marshall Chasin, Dr. Brad Ingrao and Dr. Mead Killion,,  We are also pleased to introduce deaf psychologist Dr. Deborah McCaw, who will speak on adjustment to hearing loss as musicians.  Dr. Kris Chesky from the University of North Texas will discuss their hearing conservation program for undergraduate students and Dr. Michael Vitalino will look at how to teach aural skills to undergraduate music students with hearing loss.   
Real-time captioning will be provided for this event.

schedule-at-a-glance and conference registration is now available..   Registration is $20 per person per ticket and includes access to presentation recordings for 7 days after the conference.  There will be no refunds once the conference starts on July 16.   Note:  Please use the email address you use to login to Zoom to register for this event.



 

Saturday, July 16, 9 am -3 pm EST (8 am-2pm Central; 7am to 1 pm Mountain; 6 am to 12 pm Pacific)
 
Time Conservation Transformation
9:00-9:45 am Principles of Hearing conservation for Musicians with Dr. Heather Malyuk  
10:00-10:30 am Hearing Conservation programs at US Colleges with Dr. Kris Chesky  
10:45 to 11:00 BREAK  
11:00-12:00 pm   More is Better: Three Music Programs for Hearing Aids with Dr. Marshall Chasin
12-1:30 pm BREAK FOR LUNCH  
1:30-2:15 pm   A Music-friendly Audiogram with Jay Alan Zimmerman
2:30 pm to 3:15 pm   The Cochlear Implant Programming Process: How to Explain Your Auditory Requirements to Your CI Audiologist with Rick Ledbetter


Sunday, July 17, 1-5 pm EST (12 pm to 4 pm CST; 11 am-3 pm Mountain: 10 am-2pm Pacific)
 
Time Transformation   Recognition/Acceptance
1:00-2:00 pm  Life After Deaf: Adjusting to Hearing Loss as Musicians with Dr. Deb McCaw  
2:00-3:00 pm   Companion Mics: Hearing Assistive Technology for Participating in Musical Ensembles with Dr. Mead Killion
3:00-4:00 pm   Instrument Selection for Individuals with Significant Hearing Loss with Wendy Cheng and Dr. Brad Ingrao
4:00-5:00 pm   Obtaining an Undergraduate Degree in Music: Issues and Barriers for Students with Hearing Loss with Tyler MazoneAbigel Szilagyi, and Dr. Michael Vitalino

 
Register at: https://events.zoom.us/ev/DBktZIyF-m5MXLJOGgAAFgAAAJW0rutNr2aEYtQ2WAfj0wsXe1CISRFy5VN2rH58qCD7TP1-iBvs~AMVpljaplp6zlNQONf_tkAW2JYqRNeqzEC0ya_s
 
Copyright © 2022 HLAA-Sarasota, All rights reserved.


Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp