LCSR News Fall 2015

Russell H. Taylor to receive 2015 Honda Prize

Russell Taylor has been selected to receive the 2015 Honda Prize. The selection was announced Sept. 28 by the Honda Foundation, which initiated this honor in 1980 as Japan’s first international science and technology award. Taylor was chosen as the 36th recipient of the Honda Prize for his crucial role in the early development of medical robotics technology, for his mentoring of students and other researchers in the field, and for his continuing contributions as a leader in this science and technology area. Read more >>

CAPE System Receives TechConnect Innovation Award

Mehran Armand was Co-PI of the team that developed the CAPE System: “Computer-Assisted Craniomaxillofacial Surgery” which was recently recognized as a 2015 TechConnect Innovation Awardee.

Bell Receives Pathway to Independence Award

Muyinatu Bell, a postdoctoral fellow in the LCSR, recently received the National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering Pathway to Independence Award to address the risk of endonasal transsphenoidal surgery. Read more >>
Russell Taylor receives EMBS Technical Field Award

Russell Taylor received the IEEE Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society’s Technical Field Award for his contributions and leadership in the field of medical robotics from the organization’s 37th Annual International Conference on August 26 in Milano, Italy. Read more >>
Peter Kazanzides and Russell Taylor present at FDA Public Workshop

Russell Taylor and Peter Kazanzides presented at the Robotically-Assisted Surgical Devices (RASD) Workshop hosted by the Food and Drug Administration in July 2015. Taylor spoke about the “Essential Performance Characteristics of RASD,” and Kazanzides discussed the issues of interoperability. Read more >>

Summer Program Offers Research Experience for Undergraduates

Eleven students participated in the 2015 Computational Sensing and Medical Robotics Research Experience for Undergraduates program. In addition to working closely with faculty and graduate student mentors on their research, the students also learned about real-world opportunities.
Read more>>
Recent LCSR Graduates 

Alican Demir recently graduated from LCSR and is currently a Senior Mechanical Engineer working in product design, development, and testing at ClearGuide Medical. His thesis was titled "Bio-Inspired Antennal Tactile Sensing."

Ryan Murphy, a Senior Professional Staff member at Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory, also graduated from LCSR. His thesis was titled, “Analysis and Control of a Variable Curvature Continuum Manipulator for the Treatment of Osteolysis.”

Xingchi He recently joined Intuitive Surgical Inc., as a System Analyst after graduating with his Ph.D.. His thesis was "Force Sensing Augmented Robotic Assistance for Retinal Microsurgery."

Seth Billings accepted an engineering position at the Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory as a Senior Professional Staff member after completing his Ph.D. in LCSR. His thesis was "Probabilistic Feature-Based Registration for Interventional Medicine.” 
Hyun Jae Kang who was advised by Dr. Emad Boctor graduated by completing his Ph.D. thesis "Medical Ultrasound Imaging and Interventional Component (MUSiiC) Framework for Advanced Ultrasound Image-guided Therapy". He is currently a Research and Development Engineer at Kitware Inc.

Kelleher Guerin is currently a Postdoctoral Fellow in LCSR after completing his Ph.D. His thesis was titled, "Methods for Improved Human Interaction with Robotic Systems."

Min Yang Jung joined THINK Surgical, Inc. as a Robotics Systems Engineer after completing his Ph.D. His thesis was titled “State-based Safety of Component-based Medical and Surgical Robot Systems.”

In Other News...

Nassar Navab was awarded the 10- Year Lasting Impact Award at the 14th IEEE International Symposium on Mixed and Augmented Reality (ISMAR 2015) held in October in Fukuoka, Japan. His valuable contributions to the field of Medical Augmented Reality led to this award. Nassir Navab directs the Computer Aided Medical Procedures laboratory in LCSR and also is a Professor at the Technische Universitat Munchen in Germany. Learn more about the laboratory for Computer Aided Medical Procedures.

Gregory Chirikjian has been appointed for a rotation as program director of the National Science Foundation’s National Robotics Initiative

Noah Cowan, associate professor in the Whiting School of Engineering’s Department of Mechanical Engineering and co-director of the LCSR, and James Knierim, professor of neuroscience in the Zanvyl/Krieger Mind/Brain Institute, were selected to receive a 2015 Johns Hopkins Discovery Award. Their proposed study, entitled “Engineering Approaches to Studying Spatial Representations in the Brain”, aims to use engineering approaches to shed new light on the brain’s “inner GPS”. Cowan is director of the LIMBS laboratory.

Chen Li will join the Department of Mechanical Engineeering and the LCSR as an assistant professor in the fall of 2015. Li completed his PhD at the School of Physics at Georgia Institute of Technology in 2011. Since 2012, Li has been a Miller Fellow at University of California, Berkeley in the Poly-PEDAL Lab and Biomimetic Millisystems Lab. Learn more about his research.

Google Plus
Google Plus
Copyright © 2015 Johns Hopkins University's Whiting School of Engineering, All rights reserved.

unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences