EBTC Newsletter #12, May 2016                                            View this email in your browser

EBTC Newsletter • June 2016 • Newsletter #12

This Month at the EBTC:

Welcome to the EBTC Newsletter!

The Evidence-based Toxicology Collaboration (EBTC) is an alliance of scientists in academia, industry, government, and non-governmental organizations who are interested in applying evidence-based methods (e.g., systematic reviews) to toxicology. Supported by a staff based at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, the EBTC firmly believes in collaboration among those applying evidence-based methods to safety issues within the environmental, pharmaceutical, agro-chemical and food sciences. We welcome your input and thoughts on the EBTC Newsletter, whether or not you are currently working under the umbrella of the EBTC. Please let us know of any relevant publications, events, and developments that you are involved in, and how we can make this newsletter more relevant and interesting to your research and to the EBT community. Contact us or visit our website.

New Website
Over the past few months the EBTC staff has been working with Johns Hopkins School of Public Health IT department on a new website.  The new redesigned website reflects the EBTC’s status as one of the centers and affiliated programs of Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health. Please note the new URL: and we are looking forward to receiving your comments and feedback here.

New Publications  
The EBTC has just published two new articles. The articles are open-access and links are provided below:

EBTC Scientific Advisory Council (SAC) 

The EBTC Board of Trustees has established a Scientific Advisory Council. The SAC is charged with vetting proposals for new EBTC projects. SAC members are invited to join working groups to help carry out project ideas approved by the Board. The SAC comprises the following individuals: 
  • Alan Boobis, Ph.D., Imperial College, London, UK
  • Vince Cogliano, Ph.D., Integrated Risk Information System (IRIS), U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Washington, DC, USA
  • Roger Curren, Ph.D., Institute for In Vitro Sciences, Gaithersburg, MD, USA
  • Hubert Dirven, Ph.D., Norwegian Institute of Public Health, Oslo, NorwayDirven
  • Suzanne Fitzpatrick, PhD, US Food and Drug Administration, College Park, MD, USA
  • Julie E. Goodman, Ph.D., DABT, FACE, ATS, Gradient, Cambridge, MA, USA
  • Barry Hardy, PhD, Managing Director of Douglas Connect GmbH and President of the OpenTox Association, Basel, Switzerland
  • Richard S. Judson, PhD, Bioinformatician, US EPA National Center for Computational Toxicology, Research Triangle Park, NC, USA
  • Annette Kopp-Schneider, German Cancer Research Center, Heidelberg, Germany
  • Francis H. Kruszewski, PhD, DABT, American Cleaning Institue, Washington, DC, USA
  • Manoj M. Lalu, MD, PhD, FRCPC, Ottawa Hospital, Ottawa, Canada
  • Miranda W. Langendam, PhD, Evidence Synthesis, Academic Medical Center at the University of Amsterdam, Dutch Cochrane Centre, Netherlands
  • Mariska M. G. Leeflang, PhD, Clinical Epidemiology, Academic Medical Center at the University of Amsterdam, Cochrane Screening and Diagnostic Test Methods Group, Netherlands
  • Malcolm Macleod, BSc(Hons) MBChB PhD FRCP Ed, University of Edinburgh, Scotland, UK and The Edinburgh CAMARADES Group
  • Simin Meydani, DVM, PhD, USDA Human Research Center on Aging at Tufts University, Boston, USA
  • Johanna Rochester, PhD, The Endocrine Disruption Exchange, Paonia, CO, USA
  • Kristina Thayer, PhD, Office of Health Assessment and Translation, NIEHS, Research Triangle Park, NC, USA
  • Carl Westmoreland, PhD, Director of Science and Technology, Unilever, Bedford, UK
  • Paul Whaley, Policy From Science, Lancaster, UK
  • Daniele Wikoff, PhD, ToxStrategies, Austin, Texas, USA
  • Robert Wright, MLS, Johns Hopkins University Welch Medical Library, Baltimore, USA
Meetings and Workshops
  • At the Society of Toxicology’s annual convention in New Orleans in March:
    • The EBTC’s Martin Stephens gave a presentation on methodological quality in a symposium on improving the reproducibility of toxicological studies
    • The EBTC’s Katya Tsaioun chaired a workshop that featured a presentation on the application of evidence-based approaches in regulatory science by Ellen Silbergeld of Johns Hopkins University
    • The EBTC’s Alexandra Maertens presented poster on the EBTC’s zebrafish project
  • The EBTC’s Katya Tsaioun gave a number of recent presentations:
    • an invited talk at an EPA workshop on systematic review (December 2015)
    • an invited talk at the 2016 Winter ToxForum reporting on the zebrafish study (February 2016)
    • a poster presentation on zebrafish project at the EChA workshop in Helsinki (April 2016) 
About EBTC: The EBTC is an open international collaboration of leading academic, government, non-profit and industry organizations, formed in order to foster collaborative development and adoption of evidence-based methodologies in toxicology. It is governed by the Board of Trustees.

EBTC Board of Trustees:
Dr. John “Jack” R. Fowle III - President of the Board
Dr. Rob de Vries - Vice President of the Board and Chair ad interim of the Scientific Advisory Council
Dr. James J. Freeman
Dr. Nancy Beck
Dr. Thomas Hartung
Dr. Sebastian Hoffmann
Dr. Ian Kimber
Dr. Andrew Rooney
Dr. Thomas Singer
Dr. Martin L. Stephens
Dr. Katya Tsaioun
Dr. Didier Verloo

You may see biographies of the Board members here.
You may forward this newsletter to others!
New readers can subscribe by clicking "subscribe" below!
 News or event?
Click the "contact us" button below!
Contact Us
Copyright © 2016 EBTC, All rights reserved.

Our mailing address is:
Johns Hopkins School of Public Health
Evidence-based Toxicology Collaboration
615 N. Wolfe Street, W7032
Baltimore, MD 21205

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list