View this email in your browser

Four Journalists Released from Ergenekon Trial

(11 March, Brussels) The European Federation of Journalists (EFJ) has today confirmed the release of three more journalists in the Ergenekon trial following the release of Tuncay Özkan yesterday.

The EFJ has welcomed the release of the four journalists, Tuncay Özkan, Merdan Yanardağ, Yalçın Küçük and Hikmet Çiçek who were accused of committing terrorist acts in the Ergenekon case.

Upon his release, Özkan has thanked the EFJ and its affiliates for their tireless campaigning for the freedom of journalists in prison. Özkan and the three journalists released yesterday evening have united with their family (see picture Özkan and his daughter).

The releases were made possible due to the change in the country’s anti-terrorism laws, which reduced the maximum pre-trial detention period from 10 years to five years.

At present, fifty-two journalists are still in jail. With the change in the law, it is expected that more journalists will be released.
The European Federation of Journalists (EFJ) is the largest journalists' organisation in Europe representing more than 320,000 journalists in 37 countries. You can follow us on Facebook and Twitter  or subscribe to our fortnightly newsletter EFJ FOCUS for updated news.
Tel.: + 32 (0)2 235 22 02
Forward to Friend
Copyright © 2014 European Federation of Journalists, All rights reserved.

unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences