Having trouble viewing this email?
Forward to Friend
18 January 2014

RUJ to Host EFJ Annual Meeting in Moscow

(14.01.2014) The Russian Union of Journalits (RUJ) will be the host for the next EFJ Annual Meeting welcoming EFJ members from across Europe. The meeting will take place in Moscow from 6 to 7 June. Having recently joined the EFJ, the RUJ hopes that the meeting will further strengthen the link of the two organisations and the work on ending the culture of impunity in Russia. The EFJ secretariat will send all practical information including the meeting agenda to its members in the coming weeks.

Solidarity Mission to Turkey

(13.01.2014) Nadezda Azhgikhina, the EFJ Vice-President has visited the imprisoned journalists at Silivri prison in Istanbul on behalf of the EFJ and the Russian Union of Journalists (RUJ). During her visit, Azhgikhina, has met with the imprisoned journalists and former President of the Turkish Journalists Union, Ercan Ipekc. Azhgikhina has expressed her solidarity with the union and journalists who are fighting for the freedom of the imprisoned journalists. Azhgikhina has also met with the wife of Kenan Kirkiya, the jailed journalist who were 'adopted' by the RUJ as part of the campaign to Set Journalists Free in Turkey.
Nadezda Azhgikhina interviewed by journalists outside the Silivri prison. She called on the Turkish authorities to release the imprisoned journalists. © Munevver Cakirtas

EFJ Launches Survey on Confronting Austerity in Journalism

(15.01.2014) As part of an EFJ new project on Confronting Austerity in Journalism, a survey aiming to find out innovative ways and best practices examples to build a sustainable environment for future journalism is launched. The survey will be sent to all EFJ affiliates and the deadline for responding is 20 February. The result of the survey will be presented in a conference to held in Vienna on 20 - 21 March.

For more information, please contact Renate Schroeder.

TGS Elects New Board

(22.12.2013) The Turkish Journalists' Union (TGS) has elected a new board in its Annual Meeting in Istanbul. The new board includes newly elected President Mr Ugur GÜÇ, Vice-President Mrs Eylem Deniz DURGUN, General Secretary Mr Mustafa KULELI, and Treasure Mr Sedat YILMAZ.

The EFJ has congratulated the election of the new board and thanked the outgoing President, Ercan Ipeck, for his tireless efforts in the fight for the freedom of journalists in Turkey. The EFJ will further the partnership with the TGS and its new board, and continue to campaign for press freedom in Turkey.

EFJ Director Departs, New Policy Officer Appointed

EFJ Director Marc Gruber will leave the organisation on 1 February after serving the international and European federations for more than 13 years. Gruber had first joined the IFJ in 2001 and has then worked specifically for the EFJ since several years. He has been active in promoting the professional rights of journalists and trade unionism. The EFJ has thanked Gruber for his outstanding work and dedication for journalists and their organisations during his career at the EFJ.

Meanwhile, the EFJ has selected Ms Yuk Lan Wong, the former IFJ Campaigns and Projects Officer, among the five shortlisted candidates to take up the role of EFJ Project and Policy Officer. Ms Wong will join the EFJ on 1 February.

“Although we will miss Marc, we are happy for him and his adventurous future. We are also very happy to know that Yuk Lan will continue to offer the EFJ her creativity and efficiency,” said Ricardo Gutiérrez.






20 - 21




Authors' Rights Expert Group meeting

Intellectual Property Rights in the Digital World

Conference: Confronting Austerity in Journalism, Vienna

Freelance Expert Group meeting, Vienna

Converging and Online Media Expert Group meeting, Vienna

EFJ Steering Committee meeting, Brussels
Copyright © 2013 European Federation of Journalists, All rights reserved.
Residence Palace, 155 Rue de la Loi, 1040 Brussels, Belgium
Website: ; Email:

unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences

Renate Schroeder, Marc Gruber & Yuk Lan Wong