For  Immediate  Release


San Francisco – The top 10 winners in college personality/profile writing were announced today in the 56th annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation's Journalism Awards Program, in which 108 undergraduate journalism programs at universities across the nation are eligible to participate.  There were 112 profile entries from 63 schools received in this competition.
First Place has been awarded to Hannah Alani, a junior from Indiana University.  Hannah will receive a $2,600 scholarship for her winning article titled “The Little Sister” published in The Indiana Daily Student. Indiana University’s Department of Journalism will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners. Hannah also qualifies to participate in the Hearst National Writing Championship which will be held this June in San Francisco.
Other scholarship winners are:
Sojin Josephson, University of Montana, second place, $2,000 scholarship
Mary Katherine Wildeman, Indiana University, third place, $1,500 scholarship
Jesse Dougherty, Syracuse University, fourth place, $1,000 scholarship
Hannah Golden, University of Oregon, fifth place, $1,000 scholarship
The sixth through tenth place winners receiving certificates of merit are:
Miguel Otarola, Arizona State University, sixth place
Jordan Hansen, University of Iowa, seventh place
Callie Caplan, University of Maryland, eighth place
Jordan Wilson, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, ninth place
Chris Heady, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, tenth place
Indiana University placed first in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition
with the highest accumulated points from the first four writing competitions. 
They are followed by:
Pennsylvania State University
University of Montana
Northwestern University (tie)
Oklahoma State University (tie)
University of Oregon
University of Maryland
University of Iowa
Arizona State University
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
The final winners will be announced after the breaking news writing competition.
Judging the writing competitions this year are:  Nicole Carroll, Vice President/News and Editor, The Arizona Republic; Mike Leary, Senior Vice President and Editor, San Antonio Express-News; and David Zeeck, President and Publisher, The News Tribune.
The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication and fully funded and administered by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation.  The 14 monthly competitions consist of five writing, two photojournalism, one radio, two TV and four multimedia, with Championship finals in all divisions.  The program awards up to $500,000 in scholarships and grants annually.        
#  #  #
The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication and fully funded and administered by the
William Randolph Hearst Foundation. 

The program consists of five monthly writing competitions, two photojournalism competitions, one radio and two TV broadcast news competitions and four multimedia competitions, with Championship Finals in all divisions, with the exception of team multimedia. The program awards up to $500,000 in scholarships, mathcing grants, stipends and intercollegiate awards annually.

The William Randolph Hearst Foundation was established by its namesake in 1948 under California non-profit laws, exclusively for educational and charitable purposes.  Since then, the Hearst Foundations have contributed more than one billion dollars to numerous educational programs, health and medical care, human services and the arts in every state.

Jan Watten
Program Director


Please view our new website!
Forward to Friend
Copyright © 2016 Hearst Foundation, All rights reserved.
unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences 

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp