San Francisco – Winners have been announced in the November photojournalism competition of the 2014-2015 Hearst Journalism Awards Program.  Entries in the first of two photo competitions were in the categories of news and features.
The winners were selected from 106 entries submitted from 59 schools nationwide.  The top winners, along with the top finalists in the next photo competition and two overall highest scorers, will submit additional photos for the semi-final round of judging next April.  Six finalists will be chosen from that round to compete in the program's National Photojournalism Championship, along with writing, TV. radio and multimedia finalists.  The Championship will be held this June in San Francisco.
The top five finalists who qualify for the semi-final round:
First Place, $2,600 award, Andrew Renneisen, Syracuse University
Second Place, $2,000 award, Kaylee Everly, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Third Place, $1,500 award, Timothy Tai, University of Missouri
Fourth Place, $1,000 award, Katie McLean, Western Kentucky University
Fifth Place, $1,000 award, Dillon Deaton, U. of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
The top five winning schools receive matching grants.
The sixth through tenth place finalists are:
Sixth Place, certificate, Michael Noble, Jr., Western Kentucky University
Seventh Place, certificate, Sam Maller, Syracuse University
Eighth Place, certificate, Mark Felix, Indiana University
Ninth Place, certificate, Isaac Hale, Ohio University
Tenth Place, certificate, Zachary Wittman, Central Michigan University

The Journalism Awards Program, now in its 55th year, added photojournalism to the competitions in 1970.  The program also includes five writing, one radio, two television, and four multimedia competitions offering up to $500,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends.  108 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs are eligible to participate in the Hearst competitions.
The photojournalism judges are:  Sue Morrow, Assistant Multimedia Director, Sacramento Bee, CA; Jakub Mosur, Freelance Photographer, San Francisco, CA; Kenneth Irby, Senior Faculty, Director of Community Relations & Diversity Programs, The Poynter Institute, St. Petersburg, FL.
Syracuse University is in first place in the Intercollegiate Photojournalism Competition with the highest accumulated student points from this competition.  It is followed by: Western Kentucky University; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Ohio University; Kent State University; Indiana University; University of Missouri; University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Central Michigan University; University of Oregon. The final Intercollegiate winners are announced in April.  The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively.

# # #

Arthur Brisbane
retired Editor and Corporate Executive, Knight Ridder Newspapers

Nicole Carroll
Vice President/News and Executive Editor, The Arizona Republic

Mike Leary
Senior VP and Editor, San Antonio Express News

Sue Morrow
Assistant Director of Multimedia
Sacramento Bee, CA

Kenneth F. Irby 
Senior Faculty,Director of Community Relations & Diversity Programs
The Poynter Institute
St. Petersburg, FL 

Jakub Mosur
Freelance Photographer, San Francisco, CA

Marci Burdick
Senior VP of Broadcasting, Schurz Communications
Mishawaka, IN

Harvey Nagler
Vice President, Radio, CBS News
New York, NY

Fred Young
retired Senior Vice President of News, Hearst Television Inc.
New York, NY

Tiffany Campbell
Managing Editor, Digital, WBUR 90.9 /
Cambridge, MA

Sue Morrow
Assistant Director of Multimedia, Sacramento Bee, CA
Kate O’Brian
President, Al Jazeera America
New York, NY

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is conducted under the auspices of accredited schools of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication and fully funded and administered by the
William Randolph Hearst Foundation. 

It consists of five monthly writing competitions, two photojournalism competitions, three broadcast news competitions and four multimedia competitions, with Championship Finals in all divisions, with the exception of team multimedia. The program awards up to $500,000 in scholarships, mathcing grants, stipends and intercollegiate awards annually.

The William Randolph Hearst Foundation was established by its namesake in 1948 under California non-profit laws, exclusively for educational and charitable purposes.  Since then, the Hearst Foundations have contributed more than one billion dollars to numerous educational programs, health and medical care, human services and the arts in every state.

Jan Watten
Program Director


Forward to Friend
Copyright © 2015 The Hearst Foundations, All rights reserved.
unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences 

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp