Books, Wine and Authors Oh My!

...and the newsletter for bookbar lovers

Author Events for kids and young adults
This Saturday July 20 @ 6:30 p.m.
We are excited to welcome our first children's / young adult authors this Saturday.  Melanie Crowder and Polly Holyoke will be reading from and signing their new books.  Perfect for 8 - 14 year old readers (but so fun for every age) these books will leave your children yearning for more knowledge about environmental issues that surround us.  

Parched is a magical and powerful survival tale about 2 children and their dogs, on the search for water in a barren land.  
The Neptune Project  is a futuristic underseas adventure that will leave you gasping for air

Learn more about both books and the authors: http://melaniecrowder.net/    http://www.pollyholyoke.com/books.php
Tuesday July 23rd @ 4:00 
Denver Author and Artist, Gary Michael will be discussing his book and talking all about prairie dogs.  Fans of Watership Down, Wind in the Willows (or of prairie dogs) of any age will love this charming book about the adventures of a prairie dog colony struggling to survive human intervention.  http://blogs.denverpost.com/books/2012/08/28/gary-michaels-middlereader-prairie-dog-epic/6640/
Happier Hour now on Thursdays @ 4:00!  We will be hosting children's & young adult authors the next couple of Tuesdays so Happier Hour will move to Thursdays.  Same time. Same Place.  Story time for the little ones and drink specials for their grown-ups.  Stay tuned for next week's specials.  
While you're here with your school aged readers, don't forget about our summer reading challenge.  There is still time to register and read 6 books from our three different reading levels to earn an exciting end of summer prize!
July Book + Wine Pairing
How are you enjoying our July picks for our Book + Wine Pairing? 'The Ocean at the End of the Lane' is sufficiently creeping me out and keeping me awake way too late at night, reading.  Add a glass of Shadow Chaser White for some eerie dreams, guaranteed.   Come pick up your copy of Gaiman's book and have a glass of Shadow Chaser all month long.  

July 29th @ 7 p.m.
Book + Wine Pairing Night.  Join us for a drop-in group discussion on the book with Shadow Chaser on Special. Our guest sommelier will open the discussion with a brief talk on why he chose this wine as a pairing.  
Our first poetry reading had everything: thunder and lightning, Apricot Nectar Thyme Spritzers, a moving youth poet, a worthy charitable cause and 3 incredible local poets from Conundrum Press: Eleanor Swanson, Joe Hutchison and 2006-2010 Denver Poet Laureate, Chris Ransick.  These 4 poets blew us all away.  
BookBar 
4280 Tennyson St. 
Denver, CO. 80212
www.bookbardenver.com
info@bookbardenver.com
720-443-2227
Facebook
Facebook
Twitter
Twitter
Website
Website
Share
Tweet
Forward to Friend
Copyright © 2013 BookBar, Inc., All rights reserved.


unsubscribe from this list   update subscription preferences 

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp