View this email in your browser
November 18, 2016 Chamber Website   Facebook Twitter YouTube
37th Annual Summit a Success! We kicked off our 37th Annual Summit Wednesday in Isle of Palms to bring the business community together as we gear up for 2017. Attendees heard from economic experts, Chamber staff, and SC business leaders on what was accomplished in 2016 and what the business community’s focus will be in the upcoming year. We also heard from Keynote Speaker and best-selling author of Same Kind of Different as Me, Ron Hall, and recognized our Business Leader of the year, Mikee Johnson, and Public Servant of the Year, House Speaker Jay Lucas. Click below to see videos honoring our two award winners!
Excellence in Diversity Award Winners Announced… This year at the Summit we also recognized our 2016 Excellence in Workplace Diversity Award winners. This award recognizes companies for their significant contributions to the advancement of South Carolina through diversity initiatives and inclusion efforts. We are pleased to announce that this year’s winner in the small employer category is Ogletree Deakins and the winner in the large employer category is Bank of America! Congrats to all winners and finalists!

House Tax Policy Review Committee Update… On Tuesday, the SC House Tax Policy Review Committee met to continue its discussion of property taxes and sales tax exemptions. Members discussed the need for competitiveness in our state’s tax rates and several sales tax exemptions, as well as the future plans of the committee. The committee will reconvene on Tuesday, November 29th to consider additional data and resume its work on property, sales, and income taxes.

SBA Economic Injury Disaster Loans Available in South Carolina Following Secretary of Agriculture Disaster Declaration… The U.S. Small Business Administration announced Thursday that federal Economic Injury Disaster Loans are available to small businesses, small agricultural cooperatives, small businesses engaged in aquaculture and private nonprofit organizations located in SC as a result of Hurricane Matthew.

This disaster declaration includes the following counties: Aiken, Allendale, Bamberg, Barnwell, Beaufort, Berkeley, Calhoun, Charleston, Chesterfield, Clarendon, Colleton, Darlington, Dillon, Dorchester, Florence, Georgetown, Hampton, Horry, Jasper, Kershaw, Lee, Marion, Marlboro, Orangeburg, Richland, Sumter and Williamsburg. Click here for more information. 

DHEC Water Permit Proposal Update...The DHEC Water Quality Standards proposal has been put on hold and December meeting cancelled due to concerns of unintended consequences brought forth by business and industry. A reexamination of the EPA guidelines will be conducted. 

If you have an update you would like to see in Chamber Buzz, email



  • Two Percent Container Volume Increase at SC Ports…
  • Robert Bosch expanding North Charleston plant…
  • Newmark Grubb Wilson Kibler announces top producers in brokerage for Q3…
  • Haynsworth Sinkler Boyd Announces Addition of Six Associates Across the State…
  • AT&T launches higher-speed Internet service in the Charleston region…
  • Fluor power station recognized
  • Claflin to honor BB&T State President
Does your company have news or an event that you’d like featured in next week’s ChamberBuzz? Send info to!


BlueCross BlueShield of South Carolina | Duke Energy Carolinas | South Carolina Electric & Gas



AT&T | Bank of America | BB&T of South Carolina | Haynsworth Sinkler Boyd, P.A. | 
 | Michelin North America, Inc. | Milliken & Company | Nexsen Pruet, LLC | 
Ogletree, Deakins, Nash, Smoak & Stewart, P.C. | Santee Cooper | Sonoco | Wells Fargo

South Carolina Chamber of Commerce | 1301 Gervais Street, Suite 1100 | Columbia, SC 29201
Copyright © 2016 South Carolina Chamber of Commerce, All rights reserved.